Frugal Gravy

Frugal Recipes, Living Simple, Natural living and Tips to help you Save and Stretch your Money! From Cheap recipes to Poor Man Recipes to Ways to Shop to Household Tips from a Single Mom that has been living frugally for 13 yrs.

5 lb Roll of Hamburger, Stretching it for a family of 5!

Leave a comment

I just discovered hamburger rolls, the long rolls that sit right next to the packaged hamburger in the meat area of a grocery store. I know I’m late in buying them, duh. But I really didn’t realize how far they can go. So after all these years, I will buy them from now on. I would suggest that you freeze it half way and then cut it in quarters or halves and then put into freezer bags. But I unfroze the whole thing…wow. So I divided it up and I planned on making Meatloaf but today was my first day volunteering regularly every Monday at my churchs’ food pantry and it was busy, so I divided it even further and came up with 5 meals.

Meal 1: Onion Burgers-Hamburger meat mixed with Dry Mushroom Soup, served with sauteed onions and mushrooms on top of the burger. Meal 2: Meatloaf with Gravy, Mashed Potatoes and Green Beans-Hamburger Meat mixed with the Dry Mushroom Soup, breadcrumbs, eggs, milk, onions/green peppers with a 50 cent packet of gravy. Meal 3: Cheeseburger Helper-Using unseasoned hamburger. Meal 4: Meatballs: Unseasoned hamburger meat, breadcrumbs, tomato sauce, seasonings, and egg. Meal 5: Sloppy Joes-Unseasoned meat, green peppers, onions and Save-A-Lot sloppy joe sauce.

Stretching a 5lb hamburger roll for 5 people:

Now, I have a family of 2 so of course I can stretch it further than a family of 5, but if you reduce your meat allowance and use Meat Extenders even a family of 5 could have 5 meals out of a 5 lb roll. That means that you are using just 1 lb of meat per meal!

Now that you have divided your rolls into 5, think of how you can stretch it out…For example, the menu I just stated. 1) Onion Burgers-you can stretch it with mushrooms, onions, breadcrumbs, or lentils. 2) Meatloaf-Bread, onions, green peppers, carrots, oats, mashed potatoes-(or as my best friend uses-stuffing mix), 3)Cheeseburger Helper-beans, tomatoes, green peppers, onions, lentils etc. Meatballs: any of the same ingredients mentioned above, Meal 5: Any of the same ingredients mentioned above.

So now we can look at that 5 lb hamburger roll differently, right!!!

Author: leasmom

Traditional Primitive Folk Art Painter living in Fort Wayne, Indiana

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.